Congress Participants

Walczak, P...
Wojnar, Ew...
Wojnar, Ma...
Wojnar, Ma...
Avotina, A...
Avotins, M...
Baumbach, ...
«   »

ICCF – 2013 Congress Summary

Dear ICCF Delegates, Officials, and Friends, 

Below are some highlights from the 2013 Congress held in Cracow.

  • Statute 13 was modified to allow deviations from FIDE when appropriate.  
  • “The Basic Laws of Chess only apply to Over-the-Board play” 
  • New ICCF Member Federations
    • Cape Verde (Zone 4 – Francisco Carapinha – Delegate)
    • Venezuela (Zone 2 – César Jesús Reyes Maldonado – Delegate)  
  • Andrew Dearnley (ENG) elected as Marketing Director
  • Markus Hömske (FRA) appointed as NTTC (Non Title Tournament Commissioner)
  • Jason Bokar (USA) appointed as Help Desk Manager
  • Neil Limbert (ENG) has resigned from the qualification Commission position after a superb 4-year contribution to ICCF. Any interested parties are invited to contact the General Secretary for more information. 
  • Scoring 3/1/0 proposal not adopted
  • Chess 960 rating are approved – Rating Commissioner is working on implementation. 
  • Incremental time control adopted (10/50 remains the time control for most ICCF tournaments) 
  • Special Leave disbanded effective 01/01/2014. 45 days of leave per calendar year will be introduced for all tournaments starting after 01/01/2014. 
  • Table bases are introduced. 50-move rule suspended if TB is entered. Playing Rules committee along with the Service Director, under oversight of the EB will address the technical issues of implementation. 
  • Some changes were made to the Code of Conduct regarding slow play. 
  • A new category will be added to the Promotion Events ladder (below to Open class) to promote chess for very low ranking players. 
  • Congress 2014 – Sydney – Delegate Brian Jones is already preparing for an Oct 2014 Congress Australia. 
  • Congress 2015 – Bulgaria has submitted a non-binding interest in hosting the 2015 in a resort on the Black Sea. However, other Federations are encouraged to submit proposals before Australia. 

2013 Congress Minutes Review Timelines 

  • August 24 – President and GS finalize first draft.
  • August 25 – send draft version 2 to officials presenting at Congress – deadline August 31
  • September 7, send draft version 3 to delegates
  •  September 22, deadline for draft 3 comments
  • September 30, send final draft to all
  • October 6 – final version published


 Dr. Michael Millstone, ICCF General Secretary

Comments are closed.